2019 Contest - Open For Submissions!

We’ve Increased Our Prize!

The contest is open all writers, of any experience level. Written entries must be in English, double-spaced in Word or RTF format,  Art and photography must be in JPEG format, 200-300 dpi, suitable for black and white reproduction. Please check submission guidelines before submitting.

Contest submissions will only be accepted until December 30, 2018.  There will be a single cash prize of $250, based on the judges' scores.  There is a $15 fee to defray our costs.


Our Judges


Alyssa Waugh - Fiction

Alyssa Waugh is a professor of writing at King’s College, holding an M.A. and M.F.A. in creative writing with a concentration in fiction. She is the editor of Blind Faith Press’s Anthology, I Am Strength. She is also a manuscript reader for the James Jones Novel Fellowship and instructs fiction writing workshops at Wilkes University. Alyssa has had short stories published in Beyond Science Fiction Literary Magazine and won first place in Inkitt.com’s Running Scared horror writing competition. Her first book of short stories, Hell’s Laughter, was published in October 2017.

J. Michael Lennon - Non-Fiction

J. Michael Lennon, editor, emeritus professor of English at Wilkes University, is Norman Mailer’s archivist, editor, and authorized biographer, and president of the Norman Mailer Society. His books include Norman Mailer: A Double Life (LJKM) and Selected Letters of Norman Mailer (LJKN).


Christine Gelineau - Poetry

Christine Gelineau is the author most recently of Crave (NYQ Books, 2016).  Other books include Appetite for The Divine and Remorseless Loyalty (both from Ashland Poetry Press).  A recipient of the Pushcart Prize, Gelineau teaches at Binghamton University and in the low-residency MFA at Wilkes University. Her poetry, essays, and reviews have appeared widely including in Prairie Schooner, New Letters, The New York Times Opinionator, Green Mountains Review and others.